PDA

View Full Version : Learning to love the J-frame (M&P 340)

Lyonsgrid
06-16-2017, 09:28 PM
I recently got this new M&P 340. I was on the fence for months on which J-frame to go with for dedicated back-up, ankle carry. The 442 was tempting due to price and the fact that I have no desire to practice with and carry .357. But in the end, the M&P 340 won out for two reasons, better sights and lighter weight.

So far I really like this little 5 shot. I went with the Galco Ankle Glove and was surprised with how comfortable this combo is from the start. I was expecting a lot more annoyance since I’m new to ankle carry.

Only gripe so far is the stock grips interfere with the Safariland Comp 1 speedloaders. I like the idea of a laser fitted J-frames and would like to know if anyone can give me a definitive answer if the Crimson Trace LG-105’s will work with Comp 1 speedloaders.

So far, only 50 rounds fired but the Federal 147 gr +P+ Hydra-Shok JHP (P38HS2G) hits POA/POI. I hear finding a round that hits true to the sights can be tough sometimes with J-frames. So I’m leaning towards carrying this round. It also helps to have a large amount put away.

Leroy Suggs
06-16-2017, 09:51 PM
Very nice pistol!
I know you will enjoy it.

HCM
06-16-2017, 11:08 PM
Unless you have no other choice, I would look hard at 135 grain Gold Dot vas the hydra shok.

scott
06-16-2017, 11:43 PM
I've got a 342 and a 60 with LG-105s. HKS-36 speedloaders clear them just barely (sometimes they hang a bit if the angle isn't just right on the model 60. Never on the 342, or on the 442 when it was wearing a set of 105s, don't know why). The comp1s are smaller than the HKS by a little bit, so I think you'll be okay.

Frank R
06-17-2017, 12:11 AM
HKS 36-A works.

Nephrology
06-17-2017, 08:40 AM