PDA

View Full Version : Quick Question

holmes168
06-03-2017, 11:14 AM
Shot 10 of my reloads today- wanted to test out of a new pistol. No issues with any of them.
After a successful 10 round test- what is the next step? I was thinking- make 30 rounds for the next range session and continue to make higher round counts as the reloads prove to work.

Thoughts from the reloading group???!!!

Chuteur
06-03-2017, 11:36 AM
Personally, and I am no world expert, just a home workshop reloader; I try around 10 - 20 and if they work I happily carry on and knock up a 100. After that it is all systems go, once I have a good load I don't try and overthink it, I reload to shoot, I do not shoot to reload.

As long as you keep your charge constant then you should have no issues*, yes different manufacturers primers can vary a bit, but not not so you would notice. The other factor is bullet weight.

When I am cranking the handle on my dillon I always have my eye on the powder in the case.

Note:* My logic behind this is that when I blew stuff up in the military my calculations were based on the amount of bang-stuff (powder), not on the detonator (primer) and the container (case + bullet) only mattered if it was a shaped charge.

Other people will have different ideas.

Rich@CCC
06-03-2017, 11:36 AM
What is your ultimate goal? Accuracy, economy, specialized load?

For plinking ammo, I load up 20-30 to test for performance/reliability. If they work, I load in bulk with that recipe. Any change in components and the process starts over.

KhanRad
06-03-2017, 05:10 PM
For me, my bulk reloads try to mimic the velocity and accuracy of my duty/defensive load. Since I carry 147gr Speer G2s, my 147gr reloads are loaded to a similar performance level to have similar accuracy, similar recoil, and similar point of aim.