PDA

View Full Version : NPS career curiosity

Peally
05-15-2017, 12:43 PM
Was going to post this in the LE section but figured there's a pretty wide array of other jobs in the park service field (fire fighting, maintenance, geology, you name it) so I tossed it in here.

TL;DR I’m looking for job info, nothing exciting, here's a doge for you if you're just bored at work:

Boring background: I'm currently considering a few career changes wildly unrelated to my current field. Right now I'm working a dead end IT job in education making a little under what an entry level teacher does. Frankly, I hate the job and during my myriad of meetings with other technicians, salesmen, and administrators I think I’ve yet to meet a single person where I could actually see myself enjoying what they do. Basically it pays the bills, gives me mild carpal tunnel, and reminds me of Office Space. I have a 2 year degree and have been floating around the idea of going for a Bachelor’s while I work this job, but if I do it’s going to be an assload of money, time, and work. I’m 27, single, and the only non-job responsibility on my plate is my dog so time and funds aside it’s probably an ideal time for a career shift.