PDA

View Full Version : Cross eye dominate with shoulder mounted weapons

rsa-otc
12-24-2011, 04:35 AM
Need a little guidance here. My daughter is graduating college this spring and is pursuing a military career with the Marines. While an excellent pistol shot she is strongly cross eye dominate and struggles with shoulder mounted weapons. Living in the peoples republic of NJ, other than shooting shotguns in my youth I have little experience teaching people how to shoot long guns. I'm thinking about picking up an M&P 15-22 and working with her on this problem to give her a step up before entering basic training. What guidance and drills can you give me? Littlelebowski maybe you can give me some insight on how the Corp handles this in basic training. If she wasn't pursuing a military career I probably just have her shoot lefty or mount an RDS on the rifle.

Little background on Brianna. She's a third degree black belt and an excellent pistol shot. She was 7/8's of the way thru the process to get into the Navel Academy but injured her hip teaching Karate right before the physical fitness test and couldn't pass the running portion. Her goal has been a military career and hasn't wavered in that pursuit. A highly intelligent and motivated person with the right guidance I don't think this will be a problem for her.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Joseph B.
12-24-2011, 05:36 AM
In the Army we will deal with it one of two ways, either she learns how to shoot with her non-dominate eye or she learns to shoot on her weak side. I am pretty sure the USMC handles it the same way, mainly b/c that really is about all you can do with it.