PDA

View Full Version : Way random legal question about homeownership for anyone who might know...

Totem Polar
04-28-2017, 01:14 PM
This is pretty far out, but I trust that P-F will deliver, regardless.

Does anyone know if it's legal to buy a home under an alias or assumed name?

And no, I'm not asking for me; I'm good with both my home and my real name. :D

Thanks in advance for indulging this one.

pangloss
04-28-2017, 01:33 PM
I think it would be close to impossible regardless of legality. I'd look into forming a LLC or creating a trust to take ownership of the property.

Edit: I am not a lawyer but I bought 4 houses in 10.5 years in 4 different states.

Sent from my Moto G Play using Tapatalk

okie john
04-28-2017, 01:33 PM

Not sure whether it's legal or not, but you'll have to pass a shitload of credit checks, so bear that in mind. Might be able to achieve the same thing with a corporation, but it wouldn't be hard to trace it back to real people.

Any specific reason that this might be necessary?

Okie John

ssb
04-28-2017, 01:45 PM
Of the entities that spring to mind which you could incorporate as, all will require some sort of paperwork filed with your state's Secretary of State/equivalent. That paperwork's going to have somebody's name on it, and it's usually in a public database.

RoyGBiv
04-28-2017, 01:53 PM
Depending on the rules in your location, you may be able to engage a lawyer to form a trust and have the trust own the property with the lawyer being the only publicly recorded contact for the trust. You'd need to have a careful contract with the lawyer, or you may be able to set up the trust through an asset management company.

Disclosure: I am by no means any kind of expert in this field, but I do sleep at HI Express a few times per year.

Example: http://info.legalzoom.com/blind-trust-work-lottery-winners-20115.html

Totem Polar
04-28-2017, 02:00 PM
Any specific reason that this might be necessary?