PDA

View Full Version : Which Dillon for a complete noob?

Padwan
03-20-2017, 03:19 AM
I resumed more regular practice some months ago. I had a few cases of ammo in storage before my "sabbatical" but these won't last me beyond a few more months. The SO has also found time to shoot so our joint consumption is close to 600 rounds a week.

I could just reorder factory or reman ammo, but I'm thinking reloading might be a better way to maintain availability and control cost. 9mm is all we use these days

Which Dillon presses should I consider? They have several choices and I don't quite know which would match my needs?

Also, does a high humidity environment affect the quality of reloads? I live close to the beach and the air here is both humid and salty. Any suggestions how to minimize humidity in a reloading room?

#Dillon650 (https://pistol-forum.com/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=Dillon650)

#Dillon550 (https://pistol-forum.com/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=Dillon550)

#Dillon1050 (https://pistol-forum.com/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=Dillon1050)

Luke
03-20-2017, 06:25 AM
650 with a case feeder, get the bullet feeder too if you can swing it.

GuanoLoco
03-20-2017, 06:59 AM
Take your expected volume, then double it. When ammo is cheaper you just shot more!

550 at the least, 650 better and more upgradable. I started with a 550 and upgraded straight to a 1050. At this point I would say to stretch as far as you can on the press.

Humidity and especially salt will affect the rustiness of your press and dies!!! Rusty reloading equipment is sadness. I suggest a dehumidifier with a drain and frequent use of lubricants designed for corroion resistance. Hornady Oneshot cleaner/lube on all dies at the very least. Eezox is a little smelly but excellent protectant.

Peally
03-20-2017, 08:21 AM
It also largely depends on your tolerance for reloading.

GuanoLoco
03-20-2017, 08:25 AM