PDA

View Full Version : Embracing progressive thought...

45dotACP
01-11-2017, 03:46 PM
Lol clickbait...

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170111/689aa798caefc5b626999d92628ead7a.jpg

Updates/thoughts to follow tho.

Shawn Dodson
01-11-2017, 07:11 PM
I have a buddy who got one of these just a few months ago. There are a few tweaks needed to get it running perfectly. If you run into problems then PM me and I'll have him give you a hand. He knows all the tricks to get it running smoothly. He's very happy with his.

I have an RCBS Pro-2000 that I got about 14 years ago. At the time I was seriously considering the Hornady LnL progressive but I chose the RCBS as there were complaints back then about Hornady's primer feed assembly, which as I understand still requires some attention to get it to work reliably.

olstyn
01-11-2017, 08:31 PM
I have one as well, and I'm also happy to answer questions/help troubleshoot if needed. I'm not an expert, but I've had to make a few tweaks on mine here and there. No machine is perfect, but the Hornady's pluses make it worthwhile to put up with its relatively minor minuses, in my opinion, at least.

chances R
01-11-2017, 10:06 PM
I load 9mm and 45ACP on mine. No regrets, would buy again. Highly recommend the RCBS lock-out die just for QA confidence.

shane45
01-11-2017, 10:10 PM
Sorry I went Blue on this one! :D

45dotACP
01-11-2017, 11:46 PM
So...some initial thoughts. The press didn't seem to come with a shellplate...so there's that to get...which is shipping now. I will also be getting a powder cop/lockout die before even loading a single round. Need to prevent a KB. More die bushings are inbound as I suspect I'll be swapping calibers to rifle at some point during my 3 gun journey or (less likely) if I go back to single stack and start loading up .45 again. My dad wants some .38 ammo, so there's definitely that. More bushings are also en route.