PDA

View Full Version : What causes revolver end shake?

john c
01-08-2017, 07:27 PM
I'm having a friendly debate with a shooting buddy about what causes revolver end shake. The issue came up discussing the fact that .38 super has a MAP of 36,500 PSI vs. 35,000 for .357 mag. His contention is that since the .38 super has higher pressure, an otherwise identical revolver (L frame Smith) will develop end shake quicker. My contention is that a 158 gr .357 has more energy (539 ft/lbs vs. 492 ft/lbs) than a 130 gr .38 super, and therefore will cause end shake sooner. What do the experts say?

olstyn
01-08-2017, 08:31 PM
I'm no expert on revolvers or the cartridges in question, but actual loads don't usually hit max SAAMI spec pressures; I bet if you look around for a fairly short amount of time, you can find .357 loads that have higher pressure than some .38 super loads, and .38 super loads that list higher energy than some .357 loads. Also, you're talking about pretty small differences in the first place - .38 super's max pressure is only 4.3% higher than .357's, and the energy numbers you're quoting are only different by 10% or so. It's probably pretty close to a wash in real-world terms, especially given variations in powder charges in the ammo and variations in materials and construction quality and tolerances in the guns.

SLG
01-08-2017, 09:05 PM
Shooting causes it. Specifically, recoil:-)

I don't know for sure, but I think heavier weight bullets cause it way more, and more often, than lighter bullets.

Interesting question and I'm curious to hear more informed information.

serialsolver
01-08-2017, 10:15 PM
Tolerance.

Basically when the revolver is fired the cylinder slams back into the frame. This constant hammering back and forth of the cylinder in the frame window when the revolver is fired numerous times causes end shake.

I hope someone smarter and knows more than me checks in and tells us I'm right.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

DamonL