PDA

View Full Version : Random thoughts (inspired by Rotation BLOG entry)

VolGrad
12-02-2011, 11:41 AM
Most of us follow a natural progression from a complete noob to master ninja. We all travel at different speeds along that curve. It’s usually not a smooth progression. We go through patches of progress, reach a plateau, progress some more, plateau again, etc. The speed usually is a function of time, resources (guns, gear, & ammo), personal drive, online resources (however good or bad they might be), our peer group, quality training (or lack thereof), participation in gun games, etc. At some point many folks become content with where they are (or get complacent, there’s a difference IMO) and stop progressing completely. Content = I’m happy with my skills as they are now. Complacent = I don’t have the drive/time/resources/etc. to progress any further.

In the beginning most of us swap out guns & gear frequently trying to find what works best for us. Unfortunately, much of that is driven by marketing hype, Internet discussions, advice from our peers (good & bad), etc. Hopefully, this period is short lived and we find what works best for us and stick with it. Some stall out in this phase and continue to swap out guns & gear “‘cuz I want to.” These folks are not very serious about using a gun, just serious about carrying one. They like the idea of being able to defend themself but probably couldn’t actually do it if push came to shove.