PDA

View Full Version : Bullpups rock! The SA80 is awesome!

LittleLebowski
11-17-2011, 04:08 PM
Or not. What happens when you ask one of our SMEs (Failure2Stop) on this subject?

The systematic crushing of internet gun commandos' bullpups hopes and dreams, that's what (http://rationalgun.blogspot.com/2011/11/actual-friggin-data-on-sa80.html).

TCinVA
11-17-2011, 04:25 PM
...but, hey! It's made in England, (well, some of it is, anyway) and everything that's made in England is awesome!

Joe in PNG
11-17-2011, 04:27 PM
This is what happens when people who really don't know about guns, and frankly don't like them all that much, design guns. The SA80 is a bit like a slash fic written by a teenager- lots of theoretical stuff that doesn't really work like that in real life.

TCinVA
11-17-2011, 04:32 PM
IMO, and I'm not an expert by any stretch, the only decent bullpup out there is the AUG...but even the AUG isn't great.

It's telling that when you look at the world's Tier 1 units, a whole lot of them use the AR pattern weapons rather than whatever their larger armed forces use.

Odin Bravo One
11-17-2011, 05:24 PM
Yeah, not a big fan.

One more thing to mention, since I was unfortunate enough to watch it happen............if you get a bad round, run through a bad gun, and the God's decide to have your gun explode, that wonderful Bull-Pup design has that mechanical explosion taking place next to your face. Not my guy, not my organization, so I passed on pictures (not my place), but it was not pleasant. The young man who lost a good portion of his face was fairly handsome before the accident, and apparently quite popular with the ladies.