PDA

View Full Version : Beretta 96D

11-08-2011, 11:51 PM
I have recently started running a 96D, taking a break from my Glocks (long story). I know they are not considered the most durable. Most of you guys are more plugged into the shooting world than I am. What kind of service life should I anticipate from the 96D? Or is it just one of those things that some last and some don't?

ToddG
11-08-2011, 11:58 PM
10,000 was what we told customers back when I worked there. A significant percentage of 96Ds had frame cracks by that point.

Suvorov
11-09-2011, 12:45 AM
Todd,

What about running a red buffer or the like in the 96? Supposedly the 96A1s have a built in buffer to address the frame cracking issue. I have had great luck with the red buffers in my 92s with thousands of rounds fired with zero malfunctions related.

ToddG
11-09-2011, 12:51 AM
I have no experience running the red buffers in a .40-cal Beretta, but used them at times in my 9mm guns but could not guess whether they actually did anything to improve service life.

They were also used in my custom modified 96G Elite in 357 SIG, where they got eaten up very fast. I stopped shooting that gun when I got hired at Beretta and the head quality control guy performed a dye penetrant test on the frame. He found multiple cracks and suggested I not fire the gun again. It had somewhere between four and five thousand rounds through it at the time.

11-09-2011, 03:57 PM
Sad day. I guess I will just run it until it breaks and then replace it with something else.

Tamara
11-09-2011, 04:35 PM
I've had a Beretta 96 Border Marshal and used a 96D as a bedside gun for years. For someone who does a lot of DA revolver work, a slickslide Beretta is stupid easy to shoot, and there are times when I miss them.

This thread sure helps fix that. :o

11-09-2011, 07:07 PM
So is .40 S&W that much harder on the frame, or do 9mm 90 series Berettas not have that great a service life either?

JonInWA
11-09-2011, 08:05 PM