PDA

View Full Version : Sights For Quick Acquisition

Kennydale
07-29-2016, 05:42 PM
I have been using XS Big Dot sights on my carry firearms for about two years. Of late when I run drills (Public range nothing fancy) I tend to loose concentration on the front sight. Person who trains me does not like the XS Big Dot Sights at all. Thinking of switching to Trijicon HD sights with the Orange ring on front sight. Any suggestions. I carry specifically for SD. I am 66 and wear glasses.

HopetonBrown
07-29-2016, 05:45 PM
Ameriglo Hackathorn GL433, 10-8 Performance (he uses a larger 0.060 fiber as opposed to the more common 0.040).

Kyle Reese
07-29-2016, 05:49 PM
I'm a big fan of the Trijicon HD's, and all of my 9mm Glocks have them. Very easy to track that big orange dot.

BehindBlueI's
07-29-2016, 06:12 PM
I'm a big fan of the Trijicon HD's, and all of my 9mm Glocks have them. Very easy to track that big orange dot.

X2. I've been switching Sigs over one by one.

Imaposer2
07-29-2016, 06:15 PM
I can't recommend anything because I'm partial to the Big Dots myself. 20 years ago I would have loved the HDs, Ameriglo I-dot or Cap sights or the Truglo TFX sights. But, as I've gotten older (52 now) my once PERFECT sight is at the point that I have a hard time seeing the front sight without my cheaters on. And well, unless I just happen to be reading when I need a weapon, then that's not going to be a good thing. :( I need all the help I can get and the Big Dots are the easiest for me to use without my glasses. For range use only I'd pick one of the others since I can use my glasses anytime I shoot, But in the real world, a bad guy isn't going to give me time to put on my glasses so I can see my sights, so...

I just wish XS would come out with a version of their current Big Dot that uses a high contrast color like hi-viz green/yellow or florescent red in place of their current white. That would be about ideal for my eyes and needs.

Lon
07-29-2016, 06:26 PM