PDA

View Full Version : P30L to G34?

DickPR
11-08-2011, 08:52 PM
I currently own a P30L V1 Light LEM in 40SW. I am contemplating trading it in for a Gen3 Glock 34. While I love the ergos of the HK, I am not shooting it nearly as well as I would like. I have ~500rds through the P30 and the trigger is still frustrating me. I owned a Glock 34 Gen 3 in the past and I was easily the best with that pistol. The Glock trigger just seems more natural for me. My only reservations are the "stories" I hear about Glocks these days. Am I safe with a Gen3 Glock made in later 2011? The use of the HK and possible 34 is EDC and HD. I carried a 34 in the past and found no issues. Really I'm just looking for an all clear on the later Gen 3s. Thanks in advance.

will_1400
11-08-2011, 09:10 PM
I'm no expert, but I would imagine comparing a .40 S&W to a 9mm would be apples to oranges. AFIK, earlier Gen 3 Glocks are still considered good quality and its the Gen 4s and late Gen 3s that have been acting up more often than they should.

DickPR
11-08-2011, 09:34 PM
I do not want to compare 9mm to 40 (way too many threads already exist). Is there anything I should specifically look for on a late(mid 2011) Gen3 34?

will_1400
11-08-2011, 09:54 PM
This is where I'm out of my depth and I'll defer to the more knowledgeble members on here.

CK1
11-09-2011, 01:36 AM
A Gen3, even a late one, is still a fairly safe bet... you may get one with a shitty extractor that throws brass at your forehead now and again, but even if you get one like that: it'll still go bang nearly all of the time, easy/cheap spring and connector swaps will let you find a trigger that's decent enough (as good or better than the LEM), and just dropping in a different extractor so it kicks brass right is still kind of within the realm of not really being "tuning" IMO.