PDA

View Full Version : Problem with my Ruger P91DC

Lmobeats
07-09-2016, 08:20 PM
So I just purchased a Ruger P91DC 40 Cal and it has the decocker on it. The problem I'm having is that after every shot my hammer goes back and I have to press the decocker lever again to be able to fire another round. It doesn't do this while I'm dry firing, I can pull the trigger as many times back to back like I'm supposed to. But with live ammo I will shoot one round then have to decock it again before I shoot again. Has anyone else ran into this problem? I am pretty new to pistols so I don't even know where to begin looking for issues. Hope to hear back from y'all. Thanks in advance!

Kyle Reese
07-09-2016, 08:31 PM
That doesn't sound right at all. Contact Ruger customer service and have them sort it out.

Lmobeats
07-09-2016, 08:44 PM
I have I'm waiting on a reply I thought I'd check in here and see if anyone had any ideas on what it may be until I get a response from them. Of course it's a used gun and about 23 years old but I've heard so many good things about the gun and that's one of the reasons I bought it so idk

Handy
07-09-2016, 09:33 PM
I have I'm waiting on a reply I thought I'd check in here and see if anyone had any ideas on what it may be until I get a response from them. Of course it's a used gun and about 23 years old but I've heard so many good things about the gun and that's one of the reasons I bought it so idk

Reading your first post, I'm not sure I understand the problem, exactly. Pardon me if any of this insults your intelligence:

When you dry fire, every trigger pull is a long "double action" that cocks and releases the hammer. This happens when you dry fire because the slide doesn't move.