PDA

View Full Version : Frank Proctor on Slide manipulations

JCS
06-17-2016, 07:20 PM
Forgive me if this has been discussed but I came across this video.

https://youtu.be/Tw8cWNj3qQ4

Specifically the first 8 minutes when he talks about slide manipulation when loading, press checking and clearing malfunctions.

What are the opinions on this? I'm intrigued by the speed of it but wonder about possible dangers of putting your hand in that position?

Also a side question, is Frank Proctor a resource I can trust? Forgive me for my ignorance I'm still learning.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SLG
06-17-2016, 07:52 PM
Frank is a good guy and a forward thinker.

Having said that, I am not sold on front slide manipulations. It is faster, no doubt, but I don't consider the speed advantage to be worth the safety trade off.

Others, no doubt, feel differently.

Josh Runkle
06-17-2016, 07:59 PM

Having said that, I am not sold on front slide manipulations. It is faster, no doubt, but I don't consider the speed advantage to be worth the safety trade off.

I actually have identical thoughts to you:

Frank's a good guy. He knows a lot. Definitely a lot more than me.

I choose not to use this technique for multiple reasons: safety, gun-to-gun transferability of skills with overhand rear of the slide instead (you can't really do front of the slide with, say, an LCP), and my focus is on self-defense and not competition so I favor reliability over speed.

Other people will feel differently than me, and that's ok, but it's not really going to affect how I shoot.

Matt O
06-17-2016, 08:16 PM
I took a class with Frank back in 2013 and he, at least according to what he mentioned in class, was just starting to work on this manipulation at that time. It works really well for Frank and, as with most things, he makes it appear smooth and effortless. In the class we specifically did some malfunction clearing and tap-rack-bang drills in which we worked on using that particular technique.