PDA

View Full Version : Instructor says to disregard sights; use "triangulation" for "combat shooting"

PNWTO
03-07-2016, 10:24 AM
Other thread with some context. (https://pistol-forum.com/showthread.php?19484-Armed-Faculty-Staff-training-for-Higher-Ed-what-should-be-covered-or-asked-about)

So we have a few weekends of training in the pipeline, this past weekend was numero uno. Instructor has a LE background, with some time in SWAT. Right off the bat he was saying we will not be "focusing on the sights" and instead using "triangulation and body-alignment to land upper-thoracic shots at speed." He says this technique will work out the 20 yards. Being a proper student, I held my incredulity. I don't consider myself of any shooting prowess, but have a few classes under my belt, a Defoor class this summer, and a few years of SSP and Production, and some marksmanship instructor BS in the Marines.

Am I right in my disbelief? Especially since this training is accompanying the legal burden of school protection? Has anyone encountered this before? He has the ears of the powers-that-are so I don't think there is anything I can say.

Another thing he did is after he verified all our weapons were clear, is suggest that during dry-fire and presentation practice, we aim at other students so we all get used to pointing guns at others and having guns pointed at us... I just aimed at the wall.

PS: Also... scout's honor, he was using a Serpa.

JV_
03-07-2016, 10:27 AM
Another thing he did is after he verified all our weapons were clear, is suggest that during dry-fire and presentation practice, we aim at other students so we all get used to pointing guns at others and having guns pointed at us... I just aimed at the wall.I'm pretty sure I would have left. I'm not willing to be some random guy's dryfire target.

Totem Polar
03-07-2016, 10:31 AM