PDA

View Full Version : Don't ignore the belt!

GardoneVT
02-19-2016, 12:54 PM
http://i1279.photobucket.com/albums/y528/GardoneVT/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsxyckyx5f.jpeg

Top: Brand new Galco gun belt.
Bottom: Worn out 3 year old reinforced gun belt.

Peally
02-19-2016, 02:32 PM
The random 5.11 tactical belt I've been wearing for like 5 years still hasn't bent a bit ;)

GardoneVT
02-19-2016, 02:45 PM
The random 5.11 tactical belt I've been wearing for like 5 years still hasn't bent a bit ;)

Unfortunately , they don't go together well with business attire.:(

Peally
02-19-2016, 02:47 PM
True! I dress like I'm going for a light hike for work.

SAWBONES
02-19-2016, 03:01 PM
They all do that.

Leather belts all become spontaneously "contoured" after consistent use, whether made by Alessi, Sparks or anybody else.
None of mine have worn out, however, and some are twenty years old and all are used regularly.

peterb
02-19-2016, 03:19 PM
You're right. A belt that's made to fit a cone instead of a cylinder will look curved when stretched out flat.

vcdgrips
02-19-2016, 03:57 PM
What size is the bent one?

SLG
02-19-2016, 04:08 PM
What makes the bottom belt worn out?

theJanitor
02-19-2016, 04:16 PM
Don't some of the more expensive belts come with that bend built in? I seem to recall seeing pictures (here? somewhere else? I don't know) of new leather belts that had a similar shape.

yes, you can order belts with the contour already built in. Sometimes with belts that are really wide, building the contour into the belt makes it more comfortable

GardoneVT
02-19-2016, 04:57 PM
What makes the bottom belt worn out?
I was under the impression once the belt took on a "U" shape, it was toast.

The one I had previous to the bottom one was a WalMart Chinese special that warped like a Chicago Alderman's moral compass after my first two months of carrying consistently (a police surplus 4506!). So the bottom belt is still G2G despite the bend?

It's a 34 size.

HopetonBrown