PDA

View Full Version : Switching to Plated Bullets

Mitch
02-16-2016, 11:31 PM
I'm thinking about switching to plated bullets from FMJs to save some $/per round. I don't see a lot of load data out there for plated bullets. What do people here do, go with hard cast lead data? Start on the low end of FMJ data, work up slow and watch for pressure signs?

JM Campbell
02-17-2016, 12:16 AM
I've been using this outfit for a few years, local Texas company.

Here is a link to their facts page it will answer some of your questions.

http://precisionbullets.com/faq/

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

BehindBlueI's
02-17-2016, 12:20 AM
If we're talking pistol bullets, I just load them at about 75% max of FMJ loads and have never had problems. If you're talking rifle, outside my area of experience.

Mitch
02-17-2016, 12:24 AM
If we're talking pistol bullets, I just load them at about 75% max of FMJ loads and have never had problems. If you're talking rifle, outside my area of experience.

Sorry should have been more specific, just talking pistol ammo here.

Slavex
02-17-2016, 05:16 AM
In 9mm all I have shot for the last 6 years is CamPro plated. They are thicker than most other plated bullets, and I use the same load data as I would for jacketed.

GMSweet
02-17-2016, 05:42 AM
Berry's HBTP (hollow base thick plated) have been tested to 1500fps in some loads according to the manufacturer. I've had no problem running close to max loads (still minor power though) with either the Berry's or Xtreme JHPs. I buy either depending on cost and availability.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

JV_
02-17-2016, 06:13 AM
Start on the low end of FMJ data, work up slow and watch for pressure signs?That's what I do. I've been pretty happy with Rainier and Berry bullets.

LSP552
02-17-2016, 08:18 AM
That's what I do. I've been pretty happy with Rainier and Berry bullets.

Same here. I've put a lot of Ranier bullets down range from Glocks and SIGs, no problem with either.