PDA

View Full Version : Ruger Lightweight Commander?

Trooper224
02-10-2016, 12:27 AM
Anyone have any experience with this model? I'm known as the 1911 guy amongst my coworkers, but I have zero experience with this model. More than a little experience with the brand, but none with their 1911s. A fellow troop is considering one and I'd appreciate some hands-on feedback.

TheNewbie
02-10-2016, 12:56 AM
I shot the Full Sized Ruger Sr 1911 in a 1 on 1 pistol class with Randy Dehay from Craft International. It was my first real experience with a 1911 and the first time I had shot very many rounds through the gun. By the end of the day I was shooting better than I ever have and found the gun easy to shoot at speed and distance.

The bad is that in 300-400 rounds I had 3 malfunctions. Though they all happened in the first few rounds and seemed to clear up. I used Wilson 7 and 8 rounds mags, chip 8 rounders, and the two that come with the gun. I no longer have the gun because I didn't carry it.

Hicock45 does a review of the particular gun in question. I think like many light weight commanders, it's not problem free in his video/experience.

45dotACP
02-10-2016, 02:52 AM
I haven't had any significant experience with one, but I've heard good things. Their lightweight model has a steel insert in the feed ramp, so that's a fairly nice touch for that price point.

I've been fighting the temptation for their TALO model with a rail for mounting options.

rob_s
02-10-2016, 04:46 AM
This new Ruger line of 1911s has me very interested. There are not a lot of companies making a true lightweight commander anymore (meaning aluminum frame, 7 round mag, 4.25" barrel with bushing). They even seem to have a light rail, 5", .45 option. All that's missing for me is a non-railed full size 9mm. Well, that and some sense that the guns actually run.

breakingtime91
02-10-2016, 09:59 AM