PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on when you find a knife?

Glenn E. Meyer
02-03-2016, 12:19 PM
I've been reading the knife threads and was impressed by the discussion of the Hawaii incident. So as a psychologist, I was interested in the weapons priming literature that weapons can prime negative attitudes. I found that with the EBR paper and others have also. Even progun folks had negative attitudes about some weapons types.

It was found in a informal study that some officers had negative attitudes towards folks in traffic stops who had EBRs in the vehicle as compared to a nice gun.

How about knives? I see folks carrying big, black, curved, tanto, sawtooth, etc. honkers about of a middle ages knights convention.

If you stop a person for something, it could be minor or major, and you come across various knife types:

Utilitarian, tactical but not Excalibur or Stormbringer - something like a Delica, or some fearsome knife - does it influence you as to the carrier. I know that some influences are subconscious and not open to overt realization of the process.

joshs
02-03-2016, 01:11 PM
I've been reading the knife threads and was impressed by the discussion of the Hawaii incident. So as a psychologist, I was interested in the weapons priming literature that weapons can prime negative attitudes. I found that with the EBR paper and others have also. Even progun folks had negative attitudes about some weapons types.

It was found in a informal study that some officers had negative attitudes towards folks in traffic stops who had EBRs in the vehicle as compared to a nice gun.

How about knives? I see folks carrying big, black, curved, tanto, sawtooth, etc. honkers about of a middle ages knights convention.

If you stop a person for something, it could be minor or major, and you come across various knife types: