PDA

View Full Version : Home buying question

LittleLebowski
01-06-2016, 12:22 PM
Do I need an owners title insurance policy? Going through the VA if that matters.

SLG
01-06-2016, 12:31 PM
Do I need an owners title insurance policy? Going through the VA if that matters.

I'm not a lawyer...If the title is clean, and you intend to keep it that way, I think you should skip the policy.

FWIW, we were going to use the VA on our last home purchase, and a regular mortgage ended up being a much better deal. The VA loan is really for young troops who can't pay enough of a down payment. Not a great idea, since it doesn't help them build wealth, just debt.

BehindBlueI's
01-06-2016, 12:43 PM

Mortgage company will likely require it. They want to make sure the seller has the legal right to sell.

I disagree on the VA loan being a scam. The no hassle refinance alone made it worth it for us when interest rates dropped.

RoyGBiv
01-06-2016, 12:44 PM
What's a policy cost?

When I lived in NC it cost me about $200... Easy choice for peace of mind.
Here in TX, title insurance is State-regulated extortion. A policy for a similar price house cost over $1.5K.

JM Campbell
01-06-2016, 12:45 PM
My wife specializes in VA mortgage, if you would like her number I can forward it to you.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

SLG
01-06-2016, 01:11 PM
Scam was a bad choice of words, which is why I explained what I meant. Fixed it.

MEH
01-06-2016, 01:15 PM
Mortgage company will likely require it. They want to make sure the seller has the legal right to sell.

In Virginia (where Lil is based), only the lender's policy is required. The owner's policy is optional.

I have bought owner's policys and not bought them in my various house transactions, based on nothing in particular.

LorenzoS
01-06-2016, 01:23 PM