PDA

View Full Version : What's up with my 1911 barrel?

pdb
09-29-2011, 10:08 AM
So I was disassembling my Norinco 1911A1 for cleaning, and I noticed some odd dents on one side of the barrel lugs:

http://www.papadeltabravo.com/pics/1911bbl1.jpg

here's the other side for comparison:

http://www.papadeltabravo.com/pics/1911bbl2.jpg

While this gun has been poorly customized by a ham-handed amateur *cough*, I haven't messed with the barrel fit, link or recoil spring. I also haven't tightened the slide/frame fit.

Is this something to worry about? Another example of PLA quality control? A good excuse to order up a Kart barrel?

Thanks!

ETA: Pistol was bought new in 2002, and I've shot about 3000 rounds through it.

Serpico1985
09-29-2011, 03:19 PM
I'm no expert but It looks like barrel bump or lug bump caused by an improperly fitted barrel. For reading check this thread out from 1911 forum:

Barrel Bump? (http://forums.1911forum.com/showthread.php?t=281003&highlight=bump)

For "gunsmithing" information on the 1911 platform, the 1911fourm should be used as an archive to search for older posts by professional gunsmiths. For asking new questions I would suggest joining 1911pro.com. Seems all the great smiths are spending more time over there now and you would likely get farther asking over there.

The above information should in no way be taken as accurate and should be researched by the OP, consulting a REPUTABLE gunsmith is likely in order.

The 1911~ "The worlds greatest close quarter combat weapon and king of the feedway stoppage" Ken Hackathorn

Tamara
09-29-2011, 04:43 PM
I'm no expert but It looks like barrel bump or lug bump caused by an improperly fitted barrel.

This.