PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations on New .40 pistol

Flea
11-08-2015, 01:29 PM
I’m looking for recommendations on a new .40 cal pistol. To keep a long story short I have access to a TON for 40 ammo and it is “free” (job related).

A little bit of my background, I’ve been shooting an HK45c DA/SA for the last 5-6 years as my off duty/plainclothes with ~36,000 rounds through 3 guns, and I'm issued a G22 which I despise.

Primary use is off duty and occasional plainclothes. I do prefer hammer fired guns for this.

Thoughts and suggestions anyone?

okie john
11-08-2015, 01:33 PM
Hard to go wrong with a P2000 or a USP Compact.

Okie John

Le Français
11-08-2015, 01:37 PM
If the HK45c has been satisfactory, I suggest a P30 in .40 caliber. (One big difference for the DA/SA is the location of the decocker.)

HCM
11-08-2015, 01:37 PM
I’m looking for recommendations on a new .40 cal pistol. To keep a long story short I have access to a TON for 40 ammo and it is “free” (job related).

A little bit of my background, I’ve been shooting an HK45c DA/SA for the last 5-6 years as my off duty/plainclothes with ~36,000 rounds through 3 guns, and I'm issued a G22 which I despise.

Primary use is off duty and occasional plainclothes. I do prefer hammer fired guns for this.

The most durable hammer fired guns in 40 would be the SIGs and the HK USP or USP compact series. The P 30 and the P 30 L are also options however I had a P30 S in 40 caliber and found it to be kind of snappy compared to the USP. A 40 caliber 1911 or 2011 is also an option.

I believe the 40 caliber browning hi power is out of production but PF member JoninWA has good things to say about them.

GardoneVT
11-08-2015, 01:39 PM

I'll ask one, and I don't mean to be a putz in doing so.

Why do you carry a different firearm operating system off duty then you do on duty? Since the G22 is your duty piece, that's be what I'd shoot in your shoes. Or a compact Glock in similar caliber.