PDA

View Full Version : Ammo: Terrible Precision

Failure2Stop
09-22-2011, 04:47 PM
Long story short, I picked up 500 rounds of 124gr 9mm reloads from a gunshow for practice ammo.
When I started shooting it I began with a POA/POI verification at 25yds.
It was a terrible group. Hell, it would have been a terrible pattern of 00 Buck.
Center of 10 shot "group" was about 7" left and high, with 3 distinct fliers.
I immediately blamed myself and brought the target back to 7 yards to do dot drills and get my poop in a group.
Still couldn't consistently place 10 shots into a 3" circle at 7 unless I slowed waaaaay down.
I went home and dry-fired throughout the week until I hit the range again today.

As I was packing for the range I remebered a box of ~60 aluminum cased Blazer 124gr that I still had, and threw in a box of S&B 115gr from a recent shipment.
I prefer to do speed work at the begining of a range session, but given my less than stellar performance earlier I wanted to check on fundamentals, so the first thing I did was a quick dot drill at 7 yds (further than I wanted, but that range is ghey) with old carry ammo and finished it with some of the Blazer. It was clean and I was happy, but I wanted to see what POA/POI shift I might be looking at so I pushed the target back to 25yds for POA/POI confirmation.
Blazer punched in a tidy 3-4" group with one flier (my fault all the way, but still in black), and the S&B put in a nice 4" group (I was shooting a little faster than I should have and had two drop a couple of inches below the group body.

So, I figured that the dry-fire did me right and proceeded to my training for the day.
I figured that I would use the reloads and check for POA/POI shift with what I intended to shoot for the day.
Same repeat of the previous group. Way high and left, with wild fliers.
I also noticed that the recoil was considerably higher with the reloads than even the GD (don't remember what weight I bought, old ammo).