PDA

View Full Version : Assessing Stripped Lowers

Chance
10-12-2015, 05:11 PM
I'm completely new to the concept of stripped lowers. While I know what they are, two recent (https://pistol-forum.com/showthread.php?16909-Possible-PF-AR15-Aero-lower-group-buy)threads (https://pistol-forum.com/showthread.php?16894-2016-is-coming)have highlighted my ignorance of the minutia.

How do you assess stripped lowers? I've been told that MEGA receivers are awesome, so how do Aero lowers compare (I'm trying to provide fodder for conversation, and not suggest anything about the aforementioned companies; again, I'm far too ignorant to try to funnel the conversation)? If you wanted to have a lower that was amenable to 7.62 NATO, or other calibers, how would that fit into the above?

Gray222
10-12-2015, 05:15 PM
MEGA lowers are awesome because (from what I've been told) they are made in house and are the direct manufacturer for many other companies that they brand for. When you order a MEGA lower you get a 100% in house item.

Rule of thumb is usually for a whatever build you can get away with cheapy lowers from who knows companies. If you want something of serious quality, you are going to pay top dollar for that lower. Prime examples are KAC, AXTS, Rainier MOD Ultramatch Billet 3, MEGA, and so on.

Unobtanium
10-12-2015, 07:39 PM
MEGA lowers are awesome because (from what I've been told) they are made in house and are the direct manufacturer for many other companies that they brand for. When you order a MEGA lower you get a 100% in house item.

Rule of thumb is usually for a whatever build you can get away with cheapy lowers from who knows companies. If you want something of serious quality, you are going to pay top dollar for that lower. Prime examples are KAC, AXTS, Rainier MOD Ultramatch Billet 3, MEGA, and so on.