09-28-2015, 12:03 AM
I am looking to set up a defensive 870. My questions are:

-sights

-How much ammo should the gun hold

-side saddle

-forend/light solution

-stock

thanks guys
1. Mesa Tac rail with Aimpoint Micro or the standard bead. I don't like GRS on shotguns, but you may. Can always try it,
2. Add +2 Nordic ext
3. I don't like side saddles so no comment
4. The Surefire forend is good but the magpul with rail & your choice of light is too
5. OEM stock works but I really like the Magpul stock
6. Your base gun needs to be a Police model or just get a 590A1 or M2. You literally could not give me a current production 870 express.

SecondsCount
09-28-2015, 12:33 AM
Buy one, run a couple hundred rounds through it, and then start adding the doodads. You may not want to change things after you play.

You can usually pick up an older one at pawn shops for pretty cheap. I got a Wingmaster for $150 that had a lot of finish wear but the action was nice and tight.

SkiDevil
09-28-2015, 03:28 AM
It sounds like you are looking for a home defense type shotgun. I have always been partial to the Wilson's Scattergun 12 GA Standard model.

I have one with a few thousand shells through it and it is a great shotgun. Not cheap, but worth the price. You didn't mention a budget or specific use. If money is tight, then I would second the suggestion of a used Police model or older Wingmaster as well.

I would conclude with the fact that most people don't shoot these type of defensive shotguns, so a used gun would likely have minimal wear.

Link:http://wilsoncombat.com/new/shotgun-standard.asp#.Vgj5w5rn9J8

SamuelBLong
09-28-2015, 07:20 AM
As others have mentioned start with an 870 police or Wingmaster as the base gun. I would look for slightly older 870P's or Wingmasters because the current production 870p's are not finished/smooth as the older ones. Don't worry if it's a little rough on the exterior, that's why they make cerrakote, moly-resin and whatnot.