PDA

View Full Version : to pocket pistol or ???

AKFloorguy
09-15-2011, 04:04 PM
I am a new member and have been lurking around for a while. I am currently looking at carry options, right now I am leaning towards getting a pocket pistol. Before I get started I have been reading and understand that it is possible to conceal something larger than a sub-compact .

Now a little about me, so that you have some background and understand why I am leaning towards a pocket gun. I am a commercial flooring installer and my company has normally done new construction and larger projects, with the economy the way it is we are doing more remodels than new construction and the remodels at least recently have been in either “transitional” neighborhoods or just “bad” neighborhoods. I also have the pleasure of getting to work nights at these locations and even more recently working alone. Due to the exhaust of one of our machines used for grinding concrete I have to leave all outside entrances to the buildings open so that it doesn’t smell.

My everyday set-up, I am left handed right eye dominant and shoot right handed. At work I have a tool pouch that is worn between 8-9 o’clock and a tape measure between 3-4 o’clock. When installing flooring or using a hand grinder I am on my knees bent over ruling out 1 o’clock carry (comfort reasons anything in front would be digging into my stomach) and 6 o’clock, I can’t think of any way I could conceal anything there very similar situation with 3-4 o’clock carry. I thought about ankle carry however the kneepads I wear go from my knee down my shin and the Velcro strap is at ankle level.
As far as handguns go I currently have a Colt Govt Model series 70, Taurus PT92 (it was a gift), S&W Mountain Gun in 44mag, and a Walther P22. Anyway I go I know it will involve getting a new pistol.