PDA

View Full Version : Old school Colt Goverment Carbine

LSP552
08-14-2015, 10:07 PM
I have an old Colt AR-15 A2 Government Carbine with pencil barrel. This is an old school (late 80s IIRC), non-flattop, pre-ban gun. I’m wondering if it’s worthwhile to upgrade with a newer flat top upper? The rifle is just sitting in the back of the safe so I was thinking about making it useful again instead of just a nostalgia toy. It does have the Colt large front pin.

What are the thoughts about the offset pins designed to allow a GI upper on an old Colt? I have zero experience with this, but it looks like a decent option. Or is it just not worth the effort?

http://www.fulton-armory.com/frontoffsetpinfcoltlarge-holelowerandsmall-holeupper.aspx

Thanks

LSP972
08-14-2015, 10:16 PM
I still have mine, too. But it gets used. Marie has neck issues, and with the H-1 mounted in the carrying handle, she can get a chin weld on the stock instead of a cheek weld, and shoot the hell out of it.

Its just like those old AimPoints we had mounted on the 6520s; and IIRC, we did some pretty good work with those.

IOW… why bother making a flat top out of it? You've got a ton of time behind the carrying handle. If you want, you can check out the mount I'm using and try the gun… for old times' sake, if nothing else…:D

HCM
08-14-2015, 10:26 PM
I had one of those in the 90s. It was a good gun.

I currently have a colt 9 mm A.R. with a fixed carry handle upper and an Aimpoint M2 in an Aimpoint gooseneck mount. I've has good results with this set up

LSP552
08-14-2015, 10:35 PM
I still have mine, too. But it gets used. Marie has neck issues, and with the H-1 mounted in the carrying handle, she can get a chin weld on the stock instead of a cheek weld, and shoot the hell out of it.

Its just like those old AimPoints we had mounted on the 6520s; and IIRC, we did some pretty good work with those.