PDA

View Full Version : A health crisis while carrying?

45dotACP
08-09-2015, 02:48 PM
In keeping with a few questions regarding healthcare, I found a significant source of inspiration when a patient of mine was admitted to the hospital and while helping him get dressed to leave, I noticed he had a kydex IWB holster on his belt. Empty, but clearly he had been armed the day he had to get to the ER. Being fairly new as a nurse, I wasn't quite sure what to ask him, but he was a retired cop and he let me know he had taken his gun off before getting a ride to the hospital. It brought up a question however:

If you're out of the home, carrying your CCW piece, and you suffer some sort of health crisis that requires hospitalization (car accident, heart attack, stroke etc...) what do you do with your firearm? Nearly every hospital I've ever been to is a no go for carrying. Do the paramedics or police on scene secure your firearm and hold it for you? I'm assuming you'll be telling someone, as paramedics, nurses and doctors tend to be thorough with their assessments, but I'm also assuming you'd be telling the paramedics or cops beforehand.

I suspect our EMT's here might know the answer to this, but I've never thought about it personally. Maybe as an armed civilian however, I should.

Your thoughts?

TGS
08-09-2015, 02:55 PM
If there's no person on scene who can hold it for you, it goes with the police.

No idea about what happens in order to get it back.

Dagga Boy
08-09-2015, 04:05 PM