PDA

View Full Version : Milwaukee, Wisconsin

ReverendMeat
07-12-2015, 04:34 PM
So I just moved from Oregon to Milwaukee and am looking for some input from anybody familiar with the state and/or city.

Good gun shops (of course, also looking for employment and I've got a few years experience there), shooting ranges, restaurants, things to do, etc.?

Any "bad parts" of town that I should avoid?

And regarding carry laws. I've never seen so many "no guns allowed" signs in my life until I got here, and from what I've read they seem to carry force of law in some manner. I'm confused about the specifics though--the signs count as proper notification, but on top of that would I also have to be asked to leave until I'm breaking the law, or am I breaking the law the second I walk into the building? It also seems that "concealed" knives are regulated the same way, but is a knife carried with the clip showing considered concealed?

I noticed the local library has a no guns sign as well, but libraries are not prohibited and are public property, and WI has preemption laws that prohibit localities from restricting gun rights further than state level (from what I understand. I'm not a lawyer and reading the laws makes my head hurt).

Again, any input and advice would be appreciated.

breakingtime91
07-12-2015, 05:45 PM
I can't wait to move back to Wisconsin! I have not lived there since concealed carry passed (military) so I should probably read up also. Milwaukee has always been notoriously anti gun in my opinion. If you get a chance, Kenosha is a booming town down south. I was born there in the early 90s and it is a great place to live/find jobs.

smithjd
07-12-2015, 06:18 PM