PDA

View Full Version : 340 No Lock

MGW
03-30-2015, 11:03 AM
Have we talked about 340s yet? I didn't turn anything up is a quick search specifically about 340 jframes.

Is the 2 ounce weight savings and better front sight worth the premium price over a standard jframe? And I'm putting this in the context of something that will be pocket carried every single day. My price on a new no lock is basically $300 more than a 442/642.

I've never owned or shot a 340 so I really don't know. I would use 38 only so I don't really care that the 340 will handle 357.

Asking the question has just about talked me out of it.

Dagga Boy
03-30-2015, 11:16 AM
Wayne and I are both getting ready to buy M&P 340's as back ups to our VP9's. The weight is not as big a positive to me as the front sight. I have been carrying a 642 or 442 as a back up daily for the last 6 months or so and have gotten used to it. I just decided that I want something I can really grab a good sight reference on and not have to depend on the laser.

Hizzie
03-30-2015, 11:18 AM
Wayne and I are both getting ready to buy M&P 340's as back ups to our VP9's. The weight is not as big a positive to me as the front sight. I have been carrying a 642 or 442 as a back up daily for the last 6 months or so and have gotten used to it. I just decided that I want something I can really grab a good sight reference on and not have to depend on the laser.

Thought you said you were getting away from guns that hurt to shoot?

Totem Polar
03-30-2015, 11:27 AM
Not that you should care what I think, but, I feel that the 340 is the most practical J-frame made. Maybe not the best (compared historically to, say, the first +P+ 640s in .38spec, or my old 3" RB 36-1), but the most useful. I don't find a whole lot of difference in recoil between a 340 and a 442 shot back-to-back with .38 loads, but I do find a difference in sight acquisition, as noted by DB, above. JMO, FWIW, etc.

MGW
03-30-2015, 11:58 AM