PDA

View Full Version : BUG Options

03-28-2015, 12:38 PM
Hello

I'm new here, although I've been lurking for quite some time. I'm a three-year city cop and I'm totally outclassed by the other members here. I can only hope to one day contribute to the level of discourse that this forum provides.

I've been carrying a back up gun for the last two years. We're issued M&P .40's and I carry a Shield .40 either on my ankle or on my vest. I'm at a bit of a quandary as to what the optimum location is.

I bang the gun into the door frame of my patrol car if it's on my ankle. My pant leg also rides up, and reveals the gun most times I get out of the car. My left knee starts to feel sore after several weeks of carrying on my ankle.

However I have quick access to my gun, especially when seated. It's also easy to re-holster from that location.

I have a difficult time accessing my gun quickly if it's in a vest holster (cheapo Uncle Mikes with a thumb break). I also have to remove my gun every time I take an arrestee into the jail. Re-holstering is a problem because I have to fight the elastic vest strap that goes over the holster.

However the gun stays concealed, and it is much more comfortable to carry this way for extended periods.

My questions are:

Where do you carry? What holster do you use? I noticed another member mentioned the use of AIWB under the duty belt. Are there options I am not considering?

Policy dictates the gun must be concealed and I must have retention (thumb break).

Thanks for your help.

jnc36rcpd
03-28-2015, 05:38 PM