PDA

View Full Version : Considering moving away from Glock, and trying something different…

Chris17404
03-25-2015, 03:17 PM
Hi guys,

I’m considering moving away from Glock pistols for a few reasons and wanted to get your thoughts. I’s like to try a compact 9mm pistol of some other type and dedicate myself to it for the coming year to see if I can find a pistol I really connect with. A pistol I can carry AIWB easily, has a hammer for reholstering safety, has a longer smoother trigger pull for “real life” situations, has ergonomics that fit me, one that I am able to get a consistent solid grip on the draw, and a pistol I can feel confident I can hit what I need to on demand. Right now, I don’t have all of that in the Glock.

A bit of background. I’m basically a self-taught shooter. I have learned quite a bit from this forum and others on how to shoot a pistol. My first pistol was a S&W 5946 I purchased from CDNN back in 2005 I think. I loved that pistol, very ergonomic, reliable, and I actually really liked the DAO trigger. It helped me learn trigger control and I like the long, firm resistance through the entire trigger pull. It feels “right” to me. I kept it and shot it for a few years.