PDA

View Full Version : Do Trijicon RMRs affect reliable functioning?

02-12-2015, 07:21 PM
Aging eyes have me considering mounting an RMR on a carry pistol (P2000 9mm). Question: does the added weight of the RMR affect reliable function? Is it smart to go to a higher energy round? I like the 147 loads since I perceive they bounce the least, maybe a 124+P is a good idea to ensure cycling? Any experiences, positive or negative appreciated.

LSP972
02-12-2015, 08:49 PM
The answer to your question is: given a proper installation, no, no issues (other than you needing to invest the time and ammunition to learn the different nuances of shooting an RDS-equipped carry piece).

That's the good news. I'll preface the bad news with the fact that I am a dyed-in-the-wool HK guy; I have been carrying one or another HK pistol EDC for over six years now; basically since I retired from being a cop. I LOVES me some HKs. My wife and I have ten of them between us. That said, they are not the best "platform" for an RDS installation. The design of the P2000's slide complicates the job, plus the slide's taper, while super-smooth as is for concealed carry, lends itself to a rather clunky-looking mount. Also, the firing pin block on HKs is in exactly the wrong place… i.e., in the way, right where the optic needs to go, and since it has to be shortened that limits how far down into the slide the machinist can go on the inlet job.

As you might surmise, this can can (WILL) cause problems if not done JUST right. There are mechanics doing it, so it can be done, and I have not heard of any serious problems from the few I know about… except the time I had it done, but that was the guy's first attempt at an HK, so I chalked it up to a learning experience for both of us. He has since done several successfully, I hear.