PDA

View Full Version : Breakthrough - Modified pistol grip a boon for accuracy

ubervic
01-13-2015, 10:32 AM
I've been in and out of training to increase my accuracy with my MP9FS for about a year now. On my latest range visit I tried a slightly different grip, almost completely on whim, and the results were remarkable, suggesting that I've been gripping the pistol inefficiently for over two years' time.

Prior to this past Sunday, I've been gripping with my strong (right) hand such that this hand's 'clamping force' is distributed fairly evenly around the entire surface of the pistol grip. Midway through this last range session, I focused on a 'pinching' style, with slightly less overall strong-hand force around the pistol grip, more force exerted between first finger and thumb, and a commensurate increase in weak hand force, high on the frame. In my mind's eye I'm gripping less like a 'monkey grabbing a hammer' and more like a shooter manipulating/pointing a fine tool.

I would have thought that less overall force around the pistol grip would result in less overall control, larger group and more fliers---but the opposite seems to be true. This slightly modified style enabled me to point/aim with less effort and boosted my ability to focus on better control of trigger press. Most remarkable is that groups which I would normally struggle to keep within 3-4" at 7 yds (at a moderate firing pace) almost instantly shrunk to under 2".

Someone with greater skill and awareness than I would have to watch me shoot to better account for the improved accuracy. But the quick evidence suggests that my whim to shift my grip is something I should have explored a long time ago.

ToddG
01-13-2015, 02:59 PM
FWIW, this is how I teach the grip and is similar (though not identical in detail) to what I think most folks consider the current post-modern standard grip: