PDA

View Full Version : Goals

breakingtime91
12-01-2014, 06:03 PM
So every few months I reflect on my work out program, what goals I set, and if I met them or not. I realized I had not done that with pistol or carbine and am looking to change that.
Background: I am a former marine corps infantryman so I have a base to build off of. Since I have been out I have progressed but not as much as I wished at this point. While I know I should seek out more training from a reputable instructor, finances and time do not allow that right now (I am a college student). With that stated I am going to state the goals I want to meet and if you guys and gals could give me some drills and pointers on how to reach that I would appreciate it.

Pistol: This is something I really enjoy training but I am not seeing the gains that I want. After the winter (no indoor range where I live and its -14 out) I would like to be shooting 200 rounds every three weeks. The two goals I have already set up for myself is to be able to pass Kyle Defoor's pistol tests and earn a respectable time on the FAST. On top of those two I would like to improve my shooting at 25 which as of right now is inconsistent.

Carbine: I recently made the switch back to the Ar-15 from the Ak. I am using a colt 6720 and it is set up almost exactly like the carbine I used on my two deployments besides the optic which is an aimpoint h1. Honestly I am at a loss at what I should be trying to achieve here. I have the means to shoot from 0-200 if I want but I am unsure if distance shooting really equates into my civilian life. Any ideas would be appreciated. Round count would probably be about 100 rounds a month as 5.56 is pretty pricey for me right now.

Thanks for looking.

gringop
12-03-2014, 03:06 AM
It seems like you already have some goals established and a good idea of of a possible training budget/round count. The unknown in the equation is "how long until you meet those goals".

I would start off with these steps.