PDA

View Full Version : Detective Uniform

Chipster
09-01-2014, 08:55 PM
Once again the Chief is trying to determine my wear for work and I'm trying to give him ideas before he makes one so I'll have some input. I am a small town detective (20 full time officers) and work everything from vandalism to murders, although we haven't had one since 1996. Most of my cases involve interrogations and forensic interviews with victims. I rarely work the road as my car is unmarked and I don't wear a full uniform.

Here's my predicament. The Chief wants a professional look. I want to increase my safety by not advertising I am an officer until it's to my advantage. This happens when approaching possible suspects in other jurisdictions as well as those who don't know me. I believe not displaying a badge and weapon out in the open gives me more options as I am not encouraged to carry other non-lethal equipment or wear a vest all the time. I've tried the cargo pants and untucked shirts with the merrel shoes and gotten the raised eyebrow look from the administration. I've tried the comp-tac in a tucked in shirt and didn't care for it. I don't work enough white collar crimes to justify the suit/blazer.

What am I overlooking for other options?

Dr. No
09-01-2014, 09:05 PM
polo / button up shirt and slacks/khakis (Vertx might be too tactical?)

Untucked when you're out running around and want to be incognito, tuck it in when you're in the office and want to look professional for the boss.

I'd probably choose an OWB holster with some sort of retention (belt slide Safariland ALS)

Lon
09-01-2014, 09:49 PM
I want to increase my safety by not advertising I am an officer until it's to my advantage.