PDA

View Full Version : Glock Vs Beretta DA/SA For added peace of mind with kids at home.....

azerious
08-25-2014, 03:16 PM
Ok. This thread can go bad fast, but let me state UP FRONT, I understand if a child gets a hold of a gun unsupervised, whether it is striker, DA/SA, SAO, etc, You have already failed. I do like safe's, but when i'm at work I like my wife having a pistol in a high place ready to go. Not behind combo's and locks guns that are not chambered. My choice, a whole thread can be on that alone.

That out of the way. I work in healthcare, and am on our hospitals Trauma team, and work predominantly in Critical Care. Recently, or a while ago:cool:, we had a young child (5yo-9yo range, wont say due to HIPAA) come in with a gunshot wound to the head. He was in a room with two other kids. The youngest kid in the room got a hold of a pistol of a visiting relative at the house. This child was under 5yo. He then managed to shoot the other child in the head.

This shook the hell out of me as I have two little ones at home. I have taken the oldest shooting and she knows they are tools, and is very responsible etc etc. Youngest still too young. My main pistols are ALL glocks.

My question is, Does having a pistol like a DA/SA Beretta 92/px4 give you a "safer" environment granted you've done EVERYTHING you can to raise a responsible child with proper gun knowledge. In alot of situations the light trigger on a glock seems to contribute to the ease in which small children can make it go bang. Whereas, Theoretically, a heavy DA pull could have prevented it. At this point I would like you to re-read the first sentence in this thread;).

After this incident I contemplated switching out all my glocks for DA/SA berettas or similar, and just want to make sure I'm not losing it. I do think it would give me a peace of mind, but doubtful on actually physical safety improvement. It would help me out on the AIWB side of things regardless.