PDA

View Full Version : RELOADING

htxp30
07-07-2011, 07:18 PM
Want to start reloading due to cost and bad experience with LGunner. Also have the time to do it and I'm thinking I want more control of quality of rounds. Thanks to V/T for providing me great info on what to get but would like someone in Houston that reloads that I could talk with or maybe watch reload since I'm a newbie at reloading.
I am in the process of getting a Dillon 650XL.

C.

"The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it."

George Shaw

1986s4
07-09-2011, 02:07 PM
Dillon 650XL, good choice. I think there are videos available specifically for reloading with the 650XL. Check the Brian Enos forum, those guys do know their reloading.

SecondsCount
07-10-2011, 12:07 PM
I have been very happy with the XL650. My wife purchased it for me about a year ago and I have loaded 40 S&W and 45 ACP on it totalling 5500 rounds.

The only issue I have had is that the metal plate that holds the completed round bin will start to bend if it has more than 100 rounds of 45 in it. When it bends, it will start to rub on the ram and eventually will jam it. I make sure to dump it in another container whenever I refill the primer tube.

What calibers will you be reloading?

JM Campbell
07-10-2011, 12:27 PM
I have a Lee LoadMaser, not great but not the worst. I've been looking at the Dillons, why the 650 over the 550? I've never used them so some insight would be good before I upgrade. I'm just reloading 9mm now.

SecondsCount
07-10-2011, 12:49 PM
I have had two friends that purchased Loadmasters and within a year bought Dillons. Lee is the Taurus of reloading and while I have some of their equipment, (first press was a Lee single stage) I know the limitations and use them accordingly.