PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Advice on Long, and heavy, triggers.

Terranocalypse
06-14-2014, 06:28 PM
I am looking for some advice on how to deal with long and heavy triggers. I am somewhat new to handgun shooting and own a Beretta Nano (BU9). I love pretty much everything about this gun, that is except that it has a very long and heavy trigger pull, and maybe that it is a 9mm (but that is beside the point). I know the gun is accurate because I shoot rather well if I take the time to stage the trigger. However, as we all know staging the trigger may not be an option if confronted with a self defense scenario. I was hoping someone could recommend a training regimen that might help me overcome this challenge. I have recently bought some "Snap Caps" to aid in this endeavor.

Sheep Have Wool
06-15-2014, 08:33 AM
Welcome!

I'm a newbie myself, but those snap caps and dry fire are a good start. Todd posted a dry fire regimen (http://pistol-training.com/archives/5185) that you might check out. I'll also throw in the idea of keeping up a training journal - here or on paper - to track process.

Dr. No
06-15-2014, 05:52 PM
I teach folks that you shouldn't think about the first trigger pull any different than the second one - it doesn't matter how you pull the trigger if you keep the sights aligned.

My competition pistol has a 12# first pull - I usually will try to pick a target that is relatively easy and I can deal with a little variance in where it hits. If I'm shooting slow fire (accuracy) I try to pull slow and steady through the whole pull, focusing on my sight alignment and trying to let the break surprise me. Once you get comfortable and familiar with your trigger, you will start to know where the break is. You can pull the trigger straight to that point quickly then slow down if you need to be accurate or make sight corrections. That is a bit more of an advanced technique.

BullseyePistolCompetitor
09-18-2014, 08:52 PM