PDA

View Full Version : 3 finger rubber grip for my M642

Rich
04-28-2014, 08:16 AM
I just hate the boot grip on AW Jframe and shooting +P left handed. Hell even right handed isn't much fun.

I went to S&W website and order there 3 finger rubber grip. Like the grip on my late 90`s M640/M649 357magnums.

I didn't know S&W revised there 3 finger rubber grip .

Its smaller and thinner also has a wedge like feel to it.

The 3 finger grip is almost a inch longer than my 2012 M642-2 boot grip.

I have a lot more control . plus I can pocket carry using my wrangler cargo shorts/pants.

And for some reason I see the sights better when pressing out? hard for me to explain.

So if you wear cargo pants or shorts you might try it out.

Now if I could just carry a M640 in my front pocket I would be set.

JodyH
04-28-2014, 10:10 AM
I have a Pachmyer combat rubber grip on one of my j frames. Just small enough for pocket carry but has some cushion to it.

LSP972
04-28-2014, 10:21 AM
I have an OLD pair of Pachmyar Compacs (the big, fat rubber puppy which covers the back strap) that I would put on my BUG J-frame come qualification day.

I shoot The Beast (M-360PD, my EDC secondary) almost every practice session... but only 20-25 rounds at most each time. With those skinny Ahrends 'boot' stocks... it ain't fun.

If I'm going to shoot it any more than that, out come the old Goodyears.

Yeah, I'm a wuss. So sue me...;)

Rich
04-28-2014, 03:09 PM
My mother bought me a NIB M37 for my Bday. I didn't care for the wood grips and bought the rubber Pachmyer grips. It had a pinky notch cut out.
Those were nice grips!

I must be a big time wuss ? I don't care for the recoil of my P30S 9mm when shooting 147gr loads. Maybe I should go back to a 38oz 5906 9mm. I recall it to be soft shooting.

BN
04-28-2014, 04:36 PM