PDA

View Full Version : 1911 Familiarization...and a 2000 round test

Sherman A. House DDS
06-22-2011, 03:39 PM
Like many of you here, I'm always in a, "testing," kind of mood or feeling. Whether in the lab, in the gym, or on an IDPA stage, I'm always thinking about, "improvement." With that goal in-mind, I decided to undertake the, "2000 round challenge," but with a gun that might not normally fit into the, "realm," of CCW or service pistols. I wanted to familiarize and gain proficiency with a 1911 pattern pistol, if for nothing else than to have an educated/experience based position from which to better understand 1911 trends, methods, idiosyncrasies, etc. I happened to have a gear item that a friend wanted, and in trade he had a 1911 pistol, of what I understood to be a, "less than desirable," brand. So, for very little, I got an Armscor 1911 Tactical in trade. I wanted to have the, "1911 experience," without paying $2000 for a custom pistol, or buying an off the shelf gun that would require a bunch of work to be able to use. I'm all for practicing malfunction clearance, but I'd prefer to do it with dummy rounds!