PDA

View Full Version : Recommended Beginner/Intermediate Training in Southern CA

Nik the Greek
06-20-2011, 12:29 PM
Hey all,

I'm new to pistols, and due to the rules of many ranges, not proficient at the moment with drawing from a holster. I'm looking for training in proper stance, grip etc. then, after I feel that I'm on the right track, training in practical fundamentals and drills to prepare for advanced courses later. I don't want to learn bad habits I'll have to break later.

Anyone have recommendations for reliable trainers/schools in southern California near Orange County. Or, at least, not too far from socal?

Ray Keith
06-20-2011, 12:36 PM
http://www.internationaltactical.com/scott.html

I would suggest this as a close facility.

Ray

Odin Bravo One
06-21-2011, 03:37 AM
I spent a lot of time at the range with ITTS in years gone by. By far some of the best all around pistol training you can get in California. I would make the drive from San Diego any weekend Scotty was running a pistol course. Shooting on the moving target system, debunking some myths and reality checking the 21 foot rule, as well as some long range handgunning (200 yards or so) will push all level of shooters.

The great thing is that Scott and Brett don't cater solely to the advanced shooter. Their curriculum progression is great from a beginners stand point, and you shoot and progress at your pace. I don't necessarily concur with 100% of the techniques, tactics, or procedures in use and/or advocated by ITTS, but I respect their background and experience to say what they feel is the right way to tackle various scenarios. Top notch professionals, providing top notch instruction. Probably the only thing I miss about California.........

Steven C.
07-08-2011, 12:10 AM
www.mossietactics.com

Onikudaki
07-09-2011, 12:23 AM
For anyone interested I just posted this thread in pistol class announcements: