PDA

View Full Version : Smith & Wesson Sigma SW9VE VS. Glock 17

Coach588
06-17-2011, 09:14 PM
Hi, so I'm new to working with pistols. Before the course I took all I have ever dealt with was shotguns and rifles. Now that I have gained a larger interest in pistols I was wondering if a few people could give me some advice along with pro's and con's of both the S&W sigma and the Glock 17. For the course I took we where working with the Glock 22 but I'm looking for a 9mm pistol to practice with along with home defense. Looking to get a solid pistol that first isn't gona cost me to much as it is going to be my first pistol along it being something I can work with for the next few years.
So any advice that you could give would be greatly accepted along with other suggestions on other pistols.

Kyle Reese
06-17-2011, 09:23 PM
First, welcome aboard! :cool:

To answer your question, I think that the most prudent choice would be a Glock 17 (Gen 3). It's a proven sidearm with excellent aftermarket and factory support, relatively easy to work on, and parts / magazines / holster options abound for the Glock.

Your basis for choosing a 9mm sidearm is also a sound one. No reason to shoot a more expensive caliber unless you are mandated to (and have practice ammo provided by said agency).

I would not recommend the Sigma unless I had no other option for a sidearm. They are essentially a Glock clone, and a poor one at that. No reason to not get the real thing. :)

Hope this helps!

VolGrad
06-17-2011, 09:24 PM
I was wondering if a few people could give me some advice along with pro's and con's of both the S&W sigma and the Glock 17.
S&W Sigma
Pro: very inexpensive
Con: too many to list

G17
Pro: too many too list
Con: none

Hope this helps. :cool:

John Ralston
06-17-2011, 09:26 PM
Getting a good Holster for the Sigma may prove difficult as well.

Also, you can get a Police Trade In Glock for about the same $$$.

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

Odin Bravo One