PDA

View Full Version : Pants. (Or, A Newbie's Guide to Functional Clothing)

Chance
12-27-2013, 07:07 PM
I am a total newbie when it comes to selecting clothing that does more than, you know... maintain modesty. And I'm apparently bad at selecting aesthetically appealing clothing, at least according to everyone I know.

Anyways, I'm going to be taking more classes and doing serious training in 2014, and I need clothing that I can beat up and abuse. I could just buy some cheap jeans for this, but it seems the cost of that strategy may add up compared to buying something quality that will last a while.

The only brand I have ever heard of is 5.11 Tactical, which seems to be very popular. I was going to ask the people here for additional suggestions, as I'm sure there's a whole industry dedicated to exactly this sort of thing.

The caveat being that I want something comparable to an average pair of denim jeans, at least in terms of (I have no vocabulary to describe fabric...) range of motion, elasticity, et cetera. I always wear a plain pair of denim shorts or jeans, and I don't want to develop habits that are not tenable with these items. Also, I would really like to be able to try something on before buying it, so brands with storefronts or retailers would be great (but not required).

Recommended clothing does not need to enhance, and may indeed detract from, my appearance. Any suggestions are appreciated.

LittleLebowski
12-27-2013, 07:12 PM
I think many here (including myself) prefer Vertx (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004U6VXUG/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B004U6VXUG&linkCode=as2&tag=ratio07-20) for pants. Really don't wrinkle, fits closely, nice pockets, very durable. One of the belt loops is kinda problematic for where many of us like to put our spare mag carrier but really, they're still great pants and better than 5.11.