PDA

View Full Version : CZ shadow vs G17 4G

Packy
06-05-2011, 08:19 AM
This is my first post, but been visiting the Pistol TRaining and this Forum long before..
Here goes my question:
Now that the G17 Gen 4 has issues on reliability, will a CZ SPO1 Shadow a better choice for pistol training? Talking about the ZED.
Thank you.

JDM
06-05-2011, 09:05 AM
How about an older (pre 2009??) Gen 3 17.

Kyle Reese
06-05-2011, 09:12 AM
Zed (CZ SPO1 Shadow) is less durable, more expensive and offers no real benefit over a 9mm Glock platform, IMHO.

JHC
06-05-2011, 10:35 AM
"Zed is dead baby. Zed is dead."

JHC
06-05-2011, 10:39 AM
Actually, I have no experience with CZ pistols; I just couldn't resist having just re-watched Pulp Fiction last night. I've long wanted to give the CZ platform a good workout but back off each time I spend an hour reading up on them on forums including the CZ specific forums. They sound like a hobby game gun and I want my hobby game guns to be perfectly capable of being hard use defensive firearms.

ranburr
06-05-2011, 02:33 PM
One will be as good as the other. I have one CZ 75 with over 70k rounds thru it. If you can't keep a CZ running, it is you and not the gun. Glock pretty much set the standard for plastic reliability. I think the issues with the Gen4s is probably worked out. I would get whatever one was cheaper.

JV_
06-05-2011, 02:41 PM
If you can't keep a CZ running, it is you and not the gun.I disagree with you, again.

It's like you're the antiJV. You and I have opinions that are 180 degrees out of phase.

LittleLebowski
06-05-2011, 02:47 PM
One will be as good as the other. I have one CZ 75 with over 70k rounds thru it. If you can't keep a CZ running, it is you and not the gun. Glock pretty much set the standard for plastic reliability. I think the issues with the Gen4s is probably worked out. I would get whatever one was cheaper.