PDA

View Full Version : Importance of a quality belt

ptf18
12-01-2013, 08:07 PM
Im a newbie here and have a questions pertaining to belts. I come from competitive rifle shooting and have had an interest in IDPA type shooting for a few years. Ive been to several matches but never quite got the "nerve" to give it a go even though I purchased a holster and mag pouch.

I have read about various types of belts being used with holsters in pistol shooting. Ive never thought much of the topic other than a belt shouldnt be a narrow width, flimsy, cheap buckle type ( walmart "dress pants" style)

What I'ld like to know is what qualities I should be looking for when I go shopping for a "pistol" carrying belt. I understand there are the leather types but also "cloth" types. Belt width seems to be of importance but I dont understand why. What about thickness. Does the type of buckle matter.

Thanks for any information you may lend me.

nycnoob
12-01-2013, 08:13 PM
I do not know if there are really any "bad belts", as long as you are buying a belt specifically made to carry a gun. These are abit sturdier then a regular mall type belt. They take the weight of the gun and ammo and distribute it around the waist and do not curl up to let the holster sag or get inside the trigger guard and the buckle needs to be able to take the weight. Around here most people seem to wear the 5-stich belt from thewilderness belts (http://www.thewilderness.com/tactical-belts/) lately I have been wearing their frequent flyer (as mentioned multiple times in the links below) and I like it a bunch.

Before that I was wearing the 511 trainer belt it was fine, though the buckle seemed to wear out and fall out the belt with long use 511 belt (http://www.511tactical.com/accessories/belts.html) I did not care for the TDU belts with the plastic buckle though the metal buckle would occasionally pinch when I sat down.