PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here withquestions

ptf18
12-01-2013, 06:28 PM
New to the forum and have some pistol questions. Hope Im posting them in the correct forum.

Ive been a competitive rifle shooter for many years. Ive owned pistols but rarely get them out to shoot and when I do its the usual stand at a bench and shoot bulleyes targets.

I got my CHL several years ago and my interest in handguns increased. I attended several IPDA matches and thought that those types of events would be a worthwhile experiance. I purchased the holster and mag pouches and have both a 9mm and 45ACP to shoot. I never did shoot a match (yet).

Anyways spring/summer came (this was a couple years ago) and I went back to competitive rifle shooting. Well winters back upon us and my tolerance to shoot rifles...... while laying on the ground... in 40* temperatures....... just dosent appeal to me as much as it once did.

So..... out came the pistols. I came across this site, have been doing some looking and reading here and.... this afternoon I took my guns and did some hand gunning at the outdoor range I belong to.

I know about the type of handgunning that is posted here and else where (IPDA sites). THe members discuss various points about firearms and the different ways to handle them depending on what they are being used for.

If I regain an interest in IDPA type shooting what suggestions can you all give me that might be benifical? I know about dry firing practice but what about actual range time practice? The club I belong to (which Im sure is like many) has a couple different pistol ranges of different distances. The "issue" is... and Im sure this is typical....... is that the firing points are for the usual "bulleyes" type shooting.

What I could use is some tips on how that sort of range facilities can be used by me to improve ones IPDA type shooting. I geuss that would go for any indoor range also.