Thread: IDPA weak hand dry fire question

IDPA weak hand dry fire question

Good Afternoon,
    I am relatively new to IDPA but I’m currently shooting CDP division with a 1911. For those that compete do you sweep the thumb safety off before transferring the pistol to the left hand or wait until it’s transferred to the weak side before taking it off? I have a ambi safety on one of my pistols but favor a single safety on my carry one. I’m trying to learn more about which is the preferred method in practice. Next month I am trying to shoot the qualifier and would like to know a best practice for it. There are only two other guys at my local club shooting the division so it’s not a big pool of people to ask. Thank You and I appreciate all the education I get here!

If called on to draw and change hands, I disengage the safety on the draw and transfer a hot gun.
    This is not common, usually a WHO string starts with gun in the off hand. But not always.

The short Classifier does not have WHO. I have not seen a long Classifier since the short one came out.
    Code Name: JET STREAM

What Jim said in the previous post. Ditto.

Quote Originally Posted by MCGILLA G View Post
    Good Afternoon,
    I am relatively new to IDPA but I’m currently shooting CDP division with a 1911. For those that compete do you sweep the thumb safety off before transferring the pistol to the left hand or wait until it’s transferred to the weak side before taking it off? I have a ambi safety on one of my pistols but favor a single safety on my carry one. I’m trying to learn more about which is the preferred method in practice. Next month I am trying to shoot the qualifier and would like to know a best practice for it. There are only two other guys at my local club shooting the division so it’s not a big pool of people to ask. Thank You and I appreciate all the education I get here!