Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Not too happy with Aguila ammo...

Not too happy with Aguila ammo...

I picked up about 2k rounds to fill out my training ammo that is mostly comprised of Sellier & Bellot (115 gr). Although they are nearly the same price at about $200/1k rounds, I have never had a problem with S&B, but I just had to share the 4 separate, but exact same issue that occurred in the last month with the last case of Aguila (124 gr).

Forgive my newbness, but I think these 4 rounds were over pressurized or something, b/c the brass swelled and stuck in the barrel and looked like a double feed at first glance, but after dropping the mag and trying to strip the round again, I literally had to disassemble my P30 and use my leatherman set of pliers to take the case out of the feed ramp.

Here's what it looked like:

And here's what the casing looked like:

I can't see anything other than the lead build up on the case from being over expanded, but I'm a total newb when it comes to ammo.

Anyone knows better than me, so feel free to explain this stuff to me or simply take this as a warning.

Lastly, is this happening 4 times out of 2k rounds worse than other 'not-so-good' manufacturers??
    Fairness leads to extinction much faster than harsh parameters.

Huh. Something's definitely not right there.

FWIW I've run 2600 rounds of Aguila 124 in the past couple of months, and the only problem I've had was a single round failing to detonate. Deep primer strike, but no boom. 2100 of those rounds were run during a 2KRC, so I'd have expected to see misfeeds like this, if I was going to.

I have shot over 20,000 rounds of Aguila 124 just in 2012, and can't remember a single bad round. Just bought another 8,000 rounds last week. It has been accurate, reliable and clean -- is my favorite practice ammo.

I had a problem with a bad round of AE 115 ball, similar to what ou experienced, in the one case of 1,000 of that load that I have shot this year.